top of page
InaDanu_SoulBrandPortrait_by_FrauFeist-223.jpg

About me

Sabrina

"It is the music that stays when everything
around me is crumbling."

Über mich

Hi! Thanks for being here.

Singing and creating music is like a language for me. It allows me to express from the depths of my soul and give voice to the inner world.

It means a lot to me to be able to share my music with you, despite the vulnerability it takes to do so. Yet, I've come to understand that it is part of my mission to raise awareness for the soft and vulnerable aspects of being human.

My songs want to touch something within you.

They want to build a bridge between

the softness and the fire of our heart.

My story begins with the tape recorder

Kassettenrecorder

Well, not quite. It begins with my great, great grandparents. And their parents. But as far as I can recall, it begins with being born into a family where there was music. When I was four years old I received a tape recorder. Simultaneously, my older sister got a piano, which fascinated me as well. Sometimes you would find me sitting in my room, enthusiastically singing  “I keep on fallin’…” or "Say my name, say my name.." into the microphone of my tape recorder. Without really knowing what Beyoncé and Alicia Keys were singing about, their music was a big part of my childhood.

Ina Danu busking

Along with R&B and Robby Williams, I regularly heard piano music from my sister and my dad, Austrian folk music on his accordion, and my brother’s drum beats echoing through our house.

When I was nine years old, I started playing the piano and at fifteen I bought a guitar. My first compositions were born.

Diving deeply into veganism was what truly ignited my songwriting during my studies in Salzburg. For a long time, I kept my music to myself – until 2016. Encouraged by lovely friends, I started a YouTube channel, played my first gigs and did busking. One led to the other and it felt beautiful to give more space to music again.

Then, life had a different plan for me.

I unexpectedly became pregnant.

child playing the piano

2004

A journey through the dark valley

Shortly after, I found myself in the midst of green Andalusia at a small festival. I sat in a circle with lovely people. An open jam came into being - there were drums, shakers, guitars and freestyle singing. Something new opened up within me that evening. The sounds that my voice created were new, yet familiar, surprising and yet totally me. It was as if a soft primal force was singing through me. Incredibly freeing and fulfilling. Never will I forget that evening. It has influenced my vocal expression to this day. 

mother and baby

A few months later, I gave birth to my son in our home. A truly powerful experience. Then suddenly I lost the ground beneath my feet. I faced the path of single parenthood. What followed was a struggle, a search for myself and a new home as young mother. The ground beneath my feet stayed shaky and yet it continued to carry me forwards.

The music and my solo project became my inner anchor. Singing grounded me and helped me to feel the present moment. New songs and a new vocal expression developed in this time of transformation. It became clear to me: it is the music that stays when everything around me is crumbling.

My new focus and orientation called for a new name. And alongside a mother and her son, Ina Danu was born. Danu, the earth-mother and river goddess from Celtic mythology kept stuck in my mind. The multilayered symbolism behind her name resonated with me, with my musical intentions and with the symbolism of my real name Sabrina. Ina Danu stands for transformation, salutary change, the river of life, the mystical, the love for Earth and for being held by Great Mother. 

Ina Danu

2018

_DSC5059.jpg

Heartfirst, the journey continues

In the last 2,5 years, I devoted myself to writing and finishing off my new songs. In summer 2022 the time felt ready to finally start recording my debut album Roots Within which I released in autumn 2023. 

Also, in 2022 I started holding and facilitating singing circles. What a beautiful experience to connect with others in the circle and celebrate the power of our voices together.
 

If you want to join me on my journey, you can subscribe to my newsletter. In my newsletter, I am sharing insights from behind the scenes, exclusive freebies, upcoming dates for events, and of course you will be the first to know when there is new music.

I’d be excited to have you in the boat.

 

Much love

Ina Danu

Ina Danu recording studio
banjo player recording studio
two musicians
Bio
InaDanu_SoulBrandPortrait_by_FrauFeist-59.jpg

Bio

Based in Upper Austria, Ina Danu is a heart-centered musician and conscious folk singer songwriter. Her honest and soul-touching songs tell the story of her journey as a young mother and woman. They inspire trust in the wild river of life and the connection to our inner spiritual sanctuary. With soothing tones, uplifting words and her grounding voice, she holds the listeners in a warm embrace, weaving an intimate, organic sound.

Born 1993 and raised in the Mühlviertel, Ina began playing the piano at nine years old. When she was 15, she tought herself the guitar and started writing songs. Since 2016 Ina shares her music on social media and at different venues all over Austria. A new and challenging chapter began after she had given birth to her son in 2018. Ina was forced to parent her son alone and move cities. In the midst of inner and outer chaos, expressing through music became ever more important to her. In 2019, Ina felt a clear call to step back into her light and commit to the musical path.

 

Today, Ina Danu’s music is marked by the insights and processes that the past years have initiated in her. In summer 2022 she started recording her debut album "Roots Within", which will be released in autumn 2023.

bottom of page

top of page
InaDanu_SoulBrandPortrait_by_FrauFeist-223.jpg

Ü ber mich

Sabrina

"Es ist die Musik, die auch dann noch bleibt, wenn alles um mich herum zusammenbricht."

Über mich

Hi! Schön, dass du da bist.

Das Singen und Musizieren ist für mich wie eine Sprache, mit der ich jene Dinge zum Ausdruck bringen kann, die mein Herz bewegen. Die innere Welt in Klang.

Meine Musik mit Dir teilen zu dürfen, bedeutet mir sehr viel und ist immer wieder aufs Neue ein Öffnen, ein verletzbar machen. Und doch sehe ich es als Teil meiner Aufgabe, den sanften und verletzbaren Seiten des Menschseins durch meine Musik Raum zu geben.

Meine Lieder möchten Dich berühren.

Sie möchten eine Verbindung schaffen -

das Weiche und das Feuer unseres Herzens spürbar machen.

Meine Geschichte beginnt mit dem Kassettenrecorder

Kassettenrecorder

Eigentlich nicht ganz. Sie beginnt mit meinen Ururgroßeltern. Und deren Eltern. Aber vor allem beginnt sie damit, in eine Familie geboren worden zu sein, in der musiziert wurde. Mit vier Jahren bekam ich einerseits einen Kassettenrecorder, andererseits bekam meine große Schwester ein Klavier, was mich ebenso faszinierte. Manchmal fand man mich in meinem Zimmer, während ich Songs von Alicia Keys und Beyoncé ins Mikrofon meines Kassettenrecorders sang. Ohne genau zu wissen, worüber sie eigentlich sangen, prägte diese Musik meine Kindheit.

Ina Danu busking

Zu R&B und Robby Williams gesellten sich Klavierstücke meiner Schwester und meines Papas, Volksmusik auf seinem Akkordeon, und die Schlagzeugbeats meines Bruders, die regelmäßig durch unser Haus schallten.

Mit 9 Jahren lernte ich schließlich selbst Klavier und mit 15 kaufte ich mir eine Gitarre. Meine ersten, selbstgeschriebenen Songs entstanden.

Der eigentliche Zünder für mein Songwriting war die Auseinandersetzung mit Veganismus während meiner Studienzeit in Salzburg. Lange behielt ich meine Musik nur für mich - bis 2016. Ermutigt durch liebe Menschen, eröffnete ich sodann einen YouTube Kanal, teilte Covers und Selbstgeschriebenes, spielte die ersten, kleinen Gigs und machte Straßenmusik. Eines führte zum Anderen und es war schön, der Musik wieder mehr Raum in meinem Leben zu geben.

Dann hatte das Leben etwas anderes mit mir vor.

Ich wurde ungeplant schwanger.

child playing the piano

2004

Eine Reise quer durchs dunkle Tal

Kurz darauf fand ich mich mitten im grünen Andalusien. Ich saß in einem Kreis aus lieben Menschen. Es entstand ein offener Jam und es wurde getrommelt, gerasselt, Gitarre gespielt und frei gesungen. Irgendetwas öffnete sich an diesem Abend in mir. Die Töne, die meine Stimme da von sich gab, waren anders. So, wie ich meine Stimme noch nie zuvor hörte. Es war, als sang eine sanfte Urkraft durch mich hindurch. Unglaublich befreiend. Nie werde ich diesen Abend vergessen. Er prägt meinen gesanglichen Ausdruck bis heute.

mother and baby

Einige Monate später brachte ich meinen Sohn in unserem damaligen Zuhause auf die Welt. Eine kraftvolle und magische Erfahrung für sich. Doch dann riss es mir den Boden unter den Füßen weg. Ich war alleinerziehend. Es folgte ein jahrelanger Kampf, ein Suchen nach mir Selbst und einem neuen Daheim als junge Mama. Der Boden unter meinen Füßen blieb wackelig, trug mich immer etappenweise bis zur nächsten Station.

Die Musik und mein Solo-Projekt wurden zu meinem inneren Anker. Das Singen brachte mich ins Hier und Jetzt und erdete mich. In dieser Zeit der Transformation entstanden neue Lieder und ein neuer Ausdruck meiner Stimme. Mir wurde klar: es ist die Musik, die auch dann noch bleibt, wenn alles um mich herum zusammenbricht.

Und so wurde nicht nur eine Mutter und ein Kind geboren, sondern auch Ina Danu. Danu, die Erdenmutter- und Flussgöttin aus der keltischen Mythologie, wollte mir nicht mehr aus dem Kopf gehen. Die vielschichtige Symbolik hinter ihrem Namen ging in Einklang mit mir, meinen musikalischen Intentionen und der Symbolik meines bürgerlichen Namens Sabrina. Ina Danu steht für die Transformation, die heilsame Veränderung, für den stetigen Fluss des Lebens, für das Mystische, die Liebe zur Erde sowie das Gehaltenwerden der Großen Mutter.

Ina Danu

2018

_DSC5059.jpg

Neue Wege

Seit 2020 habe ich mich dem Schreiben und Fertigstellen meiner neuen Lieder gewidmet. Im Sommer 2022 war die Zeit reif: ich habe mit den Aufnahmen meines Debütalbums Roots Within begonnen, welches im Herbst 2023 erschienen ist.

Neben den Albumaufnahmen habe ich im Jahr 2022 auch begonnen, den Raum für Singkreise zu halten. Es war ein lang gehegter Wunsch, mich im Kreis zu verbinden und gemeinsam die Kraft unserer Stimmen wirken zu lassen.

Um herauszufinden, welche Termine demnächst anstehen, schaue gern zu Konzerte.
 

Wenn du mich weiterhin auf meinem musikalischen Weg begleiten möchtest, kannst du meinen Newsletter abonnieren. Darin erhältst du einen Einblick hinter die Kulissen, du erfährst alle aktuellen Termine und natürlich erfährst du als Erstes, wenn es neue Musik gibt.

Ich würde mich riesig freuen, wenn du dabei bist.

Von Herzen

Ina Danu

Ina Danu recording studio
banjo player recording studio
two musicians
Bio
InaDanu_SoulBrandPortrait_by_FrauFeist-59.jpg

Bio

Ina Danu ist Singer-Songwriterin aus Oberösterreich. Ihre englischen und deutschen Lieder erzählen auf ehrliche und berührende Weise von ihrem Weg als junge Mutter und Frau, von der Verbindung zum inneren Zuhause, und vom wilden Fluss des Lebens. Mit ihrer sanften Stimme berührt Ina tief die Herzen der Menschen.

1993 geboren und aufgewachsen im Mühlviertel begann Ina mit 9 Jahren Klavier zu spielen. Mit 15 Jahren lernte sie autodidaktisch Gitarre und fing an, ihre ersten Songs zu schreiben. Seit 2016 teilt Ina ihre Musik sowohl in den Sozialen Medien als auch Live bei kleinen Konzerten. Mit der Geburt ihres Sohnes im Jahr 2018 begann ein neues und herausforderndes Kapitel. Sie war gezwungen, ihren Sohn alleine zu erziehen und das Bundesland zu wechseln. Inmitten von Chaos im Innen und Außen wurde die Musik für Ina wichtiger denn je. 2019 fühlte sie schließlich den klaren Ruf, sich wieder mit ihrer Musik auf die Reise zu begeben.

 

Heute ist Ina Danus Musik geprägt von den Erkenntnissen und Erfahrungen, die sie in den letzten Jahren begleitet haben. Im Sommer 2022 begann sie mit den Aufnahmen ihres Debütalbums "Roots Within", welches im Herbst 2023 erscheinen wird.

bottom of page